Walking Conversion Chart

DC's Stories

CP Man Stories

Donate

Butrans and Methadone?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
TXBullet View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TXBullet Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Butrans and Methadone?
    Posted: Jun/10/2011 at 12:46pm
I am new here, but I wanted to post my latest issues.
I am a Veteran and also have some training in Pharmacology from the USMC.

I have been taking 50mg of Methadone (tabs) for Pain Relief for the last 2 years with great results--after trying the gammet (Oxy, Diladud, etc) I found Methadone to be the ticket to opiate pain relief. Lately, I wanted to try a pain patch to combine with Methadone to try and get more extended relief, my doc suggested Butrans..after doing some research, I found Butans to be a partial agonist, which blocks some opiates as some of you may know, including Methadone.. I told him Duragesic would be a better option, but he suggested the Butrans first..it is pitiful the ignorance out there, I know more about Opiates than the Doctors!!

Anybody have some input on this?
Degenerative Disc Disease, Mild Scoliois, 2 Back Surgeries, Leg Neuropathy.
Sponsored Links

Stevie View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
I Donated to CPS

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Stevie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jun/10/2011 at 2:02pm
Hey Tx---

We have been discussing Butrans here recently as we are seeing more and more members being put on it for pain relief.  Here is one thread that I am not sure you have seen about it:http://chronicpainsite.com/mb/forum_posts.asp?TID=4543&title=butran-vs-fentenyl  

Also, I just found this in one of my PA journals and it also talks about Butrans and other opioids: